Skip to content

crochet:: winterberry surprise

July 28, 2012

SURPRISE!

The vintage potholder I was coveting waaaay back here has been decoded!

Then, you may recall that a lovely neighbor gave me these apple potholders, and I thought WooHoo, I have a sample to practice with.

Many thanks to Patty for sending this lovely surprise my way.  I have still, *ahem* a whole year later, not taken the time to work on recreating this pattern.  I know, I’m a terrible person and a procrastinator.  But thankfully, Patty is not.

So let’s just get right down to business, instead of me running my mouth.

Here’s the pic she emailed to me of her Winterberry Potholder.

photo by Patty

Now check this out, through her generosity I am able to share this free pattern.

Patty’s Winterberry Pattern::

Materials:

Worsted Weight Yarn 2 oz. Honeydew (or any light green) and Cream (or any off white)

Crochet Hook Size G or 4.50mm

Weave ends as you work.

With Honeydew ch 4, join with sl st to form a ring.

Rnd 1: Ch 3 (counts as first dc, now and throughout), dc in ring, ch 2, (2 dc, ch 2) 5 times in ring; join with sl st to first dc (now and throughout). 6 ch-2 sps.

Note: Work beginning shell as follows: sl st in next dc and in first ch-2 sp, ch 3, (dc, ch 2, 2 dc) in same sp.

Rnd 2: Work beg shell, ch 2, (2 dc, ch 2, 2 dc) in next ch-2 sp (shell made), ch 1, 8 dc in next ch-2 sp, ch 1, work shell in next ch-2 sp, ch 2, work shell in next ch-2 sp, ch 1, 8 dc in next ch-2 sp, ch 1; join.

Rnd 3: Work beg shell, * ch 2, skip next ch-2 sp, work shell in next shell (ch-2 sp), ch 1, 2 dc in each of the next 3 dc, dc in next dc, 2 dc in each of the next 4 dc (total of 15 dc), ch 1 *, work shell in next shell, repeat from * to * once; join.

Rnd 4: Work beg shell, * ch 2, work shell in next shell, ch 1, dc in next 15 dc, ch 1 *, work shell in next shell, repeat from * to * once; join, finish off.

Rnd 5: Join Cream with sl st in beg shell; ch 3, (dc, ch 2, 2 dc) in same sp, * ch 2, work shell in next shell, ch 2, 1 dc between each post (not in top loops) of next 15 dc (total 14 dc made), ch 2, work shell in next shell, repeat from * to * once; join.

Rnd 6: Work beg shell, * ch 2, work shell in next shell, ch 2, skip next ch-2 sp, sc between next two dc posts, (ch 3, sc between next two dc posts 12 times), ch 2 *, work shell in next shell, repeat from * to * once; join.

Rnd 7: Work beg shell, * ch 2, work shell in next shell, ch 2, sc in next ch-3 loop, (ch 3, sc in next loop 11 times), ch 2 * , work shell in next shell, repeat from * to * once; join.

Rnds 8 through 17: Repeat Rnd 7 (one less ch-3 loop each round. Rnd 17 should have only one ch-3 loop on each side).

Rnd 18: Work beg shell, ch 2, work shell in next shell, ch 2, dc in ch-3 sp, ch 2, shell in next shell, ch 2, work shell in next shell, ch 2, dc in last ch-3 sp, ch 2, join.

Rnd 19: Sl st in next dc and in first ch-2 sp, ch 3,dc in same sp, work 2 dc in each of the next 3 shells; join, finish off.

FINISHING: Join Honeydew with sl st at top of winterberry and ch 8, join with sl st to form ring. Work 25 sc in ring, sl st in first sc; join with sl st in same st as beginning ch-8; finish off.

Of course, I immediately tested the pattern out and here are my results:


This is what it looks like done up with cotton yarn.

AWESOMESAUCE!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry Gibson permalink
    March 8, 2013 2:25 pm

    I am looking for a parrern of a crochet babydoll with attached baby blanket, doll head hands and feet. Its from abiut 30 years ago. Not a puppet. olean_mom@yahoo.com my name is Sherry

    • March 8, 2013 7:35 pm

      Hi Sherry! I have been looking for one too. I haven’t seen one in ages! I will let you know if I see something. I am also looking for a pattern for these: http://pinterest.com/pin/149533650099530027/ Unfortunately, I haven’t found this kind of pattern either. Hmmm…time for some Pinterest searching :)

  2. February 20, 2014 2:22 pm

    Thank you so much for the pineapple/strawberry potholder pattern. You would think it would be easy to find on the web but you are lead to so many dead ends. Thanks again!

  3. SlidingDoors permalink
    July 20, 2014 1:15 am

    I loved it, the pattern is beautiful and easy thank u for it. I wanted to ask if i can do several ones and sell them. I thought of asking you first before doing so as u r the creator of the pattern. Thank u :)

    • July 20, 2014 11:07 am

      Of course you can :) Thanks for asking, but anything you create with your own hands ~ you can sell. If anyone asks, please let them know where you got the free pattern. I always love to meet new friends here at YarnChick40. Best to you and happy hooking!
      xox, LV

  4. Chris Horner permalink
    September 16, 2014 8:07 am

    HI~the potholders are beautiful, and I was wondering if they are also functional when hooked with cotton yarn. They seem to have a lacy look. Thanks for some lovely work.

    • September 16, 2014 10:14 am

      Surprisingly, they work pretty well in cotton because they are double thick. I will admit that I use mine more for on the table trivets or lid lifters because I use silicone mitts for stuff straight out of the oven… I am sort of a klutz.

Trackbacks

  1. crochet:: vintage strawberry potholder « yarnchick40
  2. crochet:: hooker mojo found « yarnchick40

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers

