Skip to content

crochet:: toddler pinafore

May 17, 2012
tags:

Did I tell ya it was a-frickin-dorable or what??

I am so thrilled with the way this one turned out.  And my 2-year-old munchkin was over the moon with happy smiles when she saw this.

I sooo enjoy making stuff for my little Deeba {read Diva}.  She never turns up her nose with, “Oh, thanks.  You made me a gift.  How quaint.”  Not that anyone has ever said that, but a girl has to wonder if it’s thought sometimes….

Well, at least she still thinks I’m cool for now…not that it will last forever.  I’ll take what I can get at this point because I know there will come a day when I’m definitely NOT cool.

This was what I bought to go under it.  You know, modesty and all.  It’s quite a hole riddled pinafore.

As for the pattern, if you are so inclined you can check out the link here.  I pretty much used all the basics, but I enlarged it from the infant size.  I used the highly scientific method of a tape measure for chest circumference and shoulder to above-the-knee skirt length and then made sure I gave her a little room to grow.  After guesstimating the yoke, I skipped the changes in the main body of the pattern and just went with the same number of stitches for each row because I liked how the shape was turning out and really didn’t want the silhouette to change.  I used plain old cotton yarn (Peaches & Cream for the colors and Bernat Cotton Tots for the white) and an “H” hook.

If I can ever figure out how to get the photo off my new cell phone, someday I will share Miss Deeba herself modeling.  She finished off the ensemble wearing little white Mary Janes and a white headband.  She’s really getting a handle on the whole matching thing.  That’s probably a good thing, because the whole moon-boot-tutu-fur-coat thing might have been a little much in the long run.

EDITED TO ADD::

To enlarge the Angel Wings pattern,  I started by chaining 72 and increased accordingly.  I also repeated round 5 a second time, then as stated above that after the yoke, I stayed with the same stitch count for the rest of the dress.

I hope that helps…

Happy Hooking!

58 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2012 1:07 am

    Wow this is so lovely, I bet it lOoks gorgeous on!

  2. May 18, 2012 9:05 am

    So cute ! You are so talented !

  3. May 18, 2012 1:50 pm

    That is one happy little dress.

    • Alberta permalink
      May 16, 2013 2:19 pm

      WOW this looks great! Are you willing to share the pattern with me. Here is my email address: annabelljune1@aol.com. I would love to make this. How long did it take for you to make. Great colors too. Thank you. Anna

    • Alberta permalink
      May 16, 2013 2:20 pm

      This is in regard to this one happy little dress.

  4. June 15, 2012 1:00 am

    This is sooooo lovely. I loved the color combo. Great!

    Resmi

  5. June 15, 2012 2:35 am

    Such a lovely little dress in such gorgeous colours!

  6. June 15, 2012 8:29 am

    Many thanks for the kind words :)

  7. June 18, 2012 10:00 pm

    That is so pretty. I just might have to make one of my nieces one, but which one, decisions, decisions.

    • June 19, 2012 8:27 am

      All of them!!! :) The pattern is super easy & quick. Thanks for visiting!

  8. June 21, 2012 3:41 pm

    This makes me wish I had known how to crochet when my girls were little. It is adorable!

    • June 21, 2012 8:09 pm

      Thanks! I don’t have a daughter, so I am just lavishing my attention on my niece. Then I give her back. It’s better that way. ;)

  9. November 15, 2012 9:06 am

    Love this dress am trying to enlarge the same one now do u still have the instructions u made from this to enlarge it? I am having problems help

    • November 16, 2012 10:54 pm

      Hi Wanda, thanks for visiting. I will see if I can find my notes and make sense of it. I will email you directly with my findings :)

  10. Lientjie permalink
    December 27, 2012 6:43 am

    This is adorable. I just started the hobby over the Christmas season and I am hooked. It is very warm in my country so I am thinking of doing this dress and having my daughter (4 months) wear it just like this. It is lovely great job!

  11. Jess permalink
    March 17, 2013 10:52 pm

    Hi was wondering how I go about getting the pattern for this dress??

  12. Kayla permalink
    April 29, 2013 9:19 pm

    I have made a couple dresses from this pinafore pattern but I can’t quite figure out how to join the rows after the yoke without changing/disfiguring the silhouette. When you said that you changed the pattern slightly for the body what do you mean? I noticed that your version is more of an A-line. What did omit to accomplish this?

    • April 29, 2013 10:07 pm

      Hi Kayla, I found my notes! (Thanks for nudging me along in that direction to see what the heck I did.) If you have enlarged the pattern as I did, I added one more full row of DC between rows 4 & 5, and then keep a tape measure nearby because the key was matching arm holes that still left enough room for a 21” chest in the body. If you are using the pattern as it was originally written – just do the arm hole stitches as she has written in row 6. Once I added the white yarn to the yoke on row 6 I made sure the chest measurement was enough by laying it flat, then I finished the entire body in that same stitch count for each row, only changing colors as I went. Hence the A-line was created by the bunching that naturally happened on that first row by the yoke. If that doesn’t make sense, I can email you a scanned copy of my notes. Let me know and good luck :)

  13. Elisa permalink
    May 11, 2013 10:36 pm

    Hi this dress is soo beautiful, where can i get the pattern for it ? i need size 3T for my daughter could u pls help thank you

    • May 12, 2013 7:06 pm

      Hi Elisa, thanks for the kind words. Check your email for a copy of my notes :)

  14. sundari permalink
    May 18, 2013 2:23 pm

    Hi
    fabulous dress.I would like to make one for my granddaughter who is 7 months. Would you like to share the instructions.

  15. sundari permalink
    May 18, 2013 2:28 pm

    Hi
    Hi
    fabulous dress.I would like to make one for my granddaughter who is 7 months. Would you like to share the instructions.My mail id is suns_in@yahoo.com
    Thanks a ton
    Sundari

  16. May 31, 2013 1:42 am

    Hello, Yarnchick40 I have been searching high and low for a beautiful dress like this for my 2 year old Grand-Daughter. You have an amazing talent with the hook and a great eye with color. I was wondering if it is at all possible to get the written pattern for this beautiful dress. If you are willing to share with me my e-mail address is Christine4tier@hotmail.com Whatever you decide i truly thank you in advance

  17. Thekli permalink
    June 6, 2013 2:53 am

    Very very nice dress. Could you please send me the pattern for a 6-9 months girl?
    Thanks a lot
    Thekli
    My email thkotzia@yahoo.gr

    • June 7, 2013 11:19 am

      Hi Thekli, you will probably want to use Bev’s original pattern on Ravelry. I’ve emailed you the link :)

  18. Bonnie permalink
    June 7, 2013 3:00 pm

    sooo cute could u please send pattern for a size 3T Would greatly appreicate it. Don’t have any idea how to enlarge my e mail is BonnieJ956@aol.com thanks in advance

  19. Marita permalink
    June 17, 2013 5:17 pm

    I, too, would love the pattern. Would you please share it?

  20. Salma Ibrahim permalink
    July 26, 2013 3:28 pm

    I wamt pattern please. My id is salma_i86@yahoo.com

  21. Cindy Chavez permalink
    July 27, 2013 10:12 pm

    I would love to be able to make this for my granddaughter in a 2T-3T, can you send me the instructions with stitch increases on how to do this? My email is cincc@att.net. Would really appreciate it.

  22. Les permalink
    August 27, 2013 4:47 pm

    I would love to make this for my granddaughter! Is the pattern available? It is so cute!

  23. Wendy Schlafley permalink
    October 14, 2013 11:32 pm

    You did a beautiful job! I have been looking for this pattern in a size 2, but can’t find it anywhere. I’d like to make it for a gift, so I don’t have measurements. Would you be willing to send me the instructions of what you did? Nice job!!!!

  24. November 4, 2013 2:18 am

    Hi,

    I saw the pattern from ravelry but I’m a beginner crocheter, i dont know how to adjust the size for my 19mos girl, can you please share how you add in the no of st to enlarge it?
    It maybe too much to ask but i much appreciate if you can re-write this pattern follow ur size :)
    Looking forward to ur reply to jolineyapeijun@gmail.com
    thanks in advance
    Cheers,
    Vivian

  25. Stacy Murray permalink
    January 4, 2014 4:15 pm

    Could I get the pattern for this? So adorable! I clicked on the here above for the Osteen but it didn’t come up. My email is Blmurray2069@gmail.com
    Thank you so much!

  26. sharon permalink
    January 18, 2014 7:58 am

    Would love to make this for my granddaughter. How can i get the pattern.

  27. Melody permalink
    January 23, 2014 2:51 pm

    Hello, I was looking for cute little toddler dresses (pinafores) and found your page. I love this so much! Would you be willing to share the modified pattern you did for this? The little girl that I am doing this for is just one, but I am not very good at modifying without actually having the person in front of me! My email is m.stiles620@gmail.com
    I would really appreciate it :-)

    • January 23, 2014 5:56 pm

      Hi Melody,
      I really only made a couple of notes that I have added at the end of this post. I hope they will help.
      LV

  28. Yona permalink
    February 24, 2014 10:34 pm

    Was the yoke worked in the round?

  29. March 30, 2014 5:54 am

    I love this and would love the pattern also its beautiful and my baby model is getting to big for baby clothes lol

    • March 30, 2014 11:00 am

      No problem Rebecca – I will send you my notes on up-sizing her pattern :)

  30. Sherry permalink
    April 1, 2014 5:04 pm

    I would luv it if u could email this pattern 2 fit my 18 month niece I luv this pattern easy 2 make thank u Sherry

  31. Joan permalink
    April 9, 2014 8:57 pm

    Hi, this is adorable. Can you share the pattern? My email is Mouser1954@aol.com

  32. Kinjal permalink
    April 17, 2014 10:49 am

    Hi, I really love this pattern and also tried to follow ur guidelines. But unfortunately it didn’t go right. Would you please be kind enough to email me this pattern for 3 year old? My email address: kin_jal16@hotmail.com
    Thanks

  33. April 18, 2014 10:02 pm

    I would love this pattern for a 5 year old.. please. .my email is sasssum@sbcglobal.net…Thank you so much..

  34. Sherry permalink
    May 19, 2014 2:03 pm

    Hi I can’t figure out the size for a 2 yr old could u please help I luv your dress am making a newborn also for sisters. Thank u sherry cozybearz@yahoo.com

  35. Rajalakshmi Karanth permalink
    June 23, 2014 2:30 pm

    Hi. I love this pattern and esp the colors u have used. I wd love to make one for my granddaughter> Wd u be kind enough to share how u enlarged to this size and ur notes please to my email address. i am a beginner in making frocks. so far i hv made baby blankets and feeding-botle covers and a tote !! wd love to do this now.
    Thank u in advance……
    raji

  36. Kasia permalink
    June 29, 2014 3:42 pm

    Hi I would love this pattern in a size 6X please if u have. Can I still chain 72 and an H hook?? add a round or 2 of DC between row 4 and row 5?? Would b easier if my granddaughter was here!!
    My e-mail is kasia47@sweetwaterhsa.com Thank you Kasia

    • June 30, 2014 8:37 am

      Hi Kasia, I have never made this pattern that large. You could definitely try using my adjustments and just make it much longer, but without having the girl’s measurements I really don’t know. If you get your granddaughter’s shoulder width, chest circumference, and shoulder to knee measurements; I would be happy to try to help you upsize the whole garment. Let me know :)
      LV

  37. donna permalink
    July 6, 2014 1:38 pm

    This is exactly what i have been looking for!! Beautiful, could you please share the the instructions with ? Hotredcrossfire55@yahoo.com

  38. Diane permalink
    August 5, 2014 6:54 am

    Good morning! I want to make this for my granddaughter who is two (already made newborn for her sister) (using ch 72) my question is at row six can you tell me how many shells before ch 3, how many shell to skip (for arm) and then how many shells before the next ch 3? DNM74@aol.com Thank you

    • August 5, 2014 8:34 am

      Hi Diane,
      Way to ask the tough questions! :)
      I honestly didn’t write it down, but I remember having the yoke done and wondering the same thing myself. I laid it out on the table and tried to shape it as it would look on my niece, then I counted shells that seemed in the right ballpark that matched on each side and used a safety pin to hold them closed and then finally attached my yarn to make that row. I really totally eyeballed it – trust your judgement, take your time on this row and you will do just fine :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 434 other followers

