Skip to content

crochet:: japanese flower shawl

April 17, 2011
tags:

Time to brag…unfortunately, sometimes that is what a ta-dah moment feels like to me.  In my real life I only have these kind of bragging moments with my family :)

So, Voila! Ta~Dah! Oh, joy of joys!  I got it finished!  Yay for me!

It’s a windy cold day, talk about perfect shawl weather.  I am wearing it as I type these words, and it is toasty.

I am really happy with the way it turned out, can ya tell? (50 photos later…)

It’s like a 4 hour slide show of your Great Auntie’s vacation to the Poconos…

Oh wait, there’s one more box of slides in my car…heeheehee

So, I made it with Vanna’s Choice acrylic yarn, an H hook, and it is very cozy I must say.  I made 4 rows, each row 1 motif shorter. (Row 1 has 13, row 2 has 12, row 3 has 11, and row  has 10) I borrowed the motif pattern from Elizabeth Cat’s blog – she is so sweet to share it!  It wraps and stays in place very comfortably.

As I posted here, it took me much longer than expected.  But in my defense, I’ve had A LOT going on in my life lately.  I have accomplished a few other things that I am quite pleased with including passing a test to add letters behind my name at work, working really hard at youth leadership workshops,  and copious amounts of time on my yard and gardens in preparation for the growing season.   All in all, this spring has been very productive.  I have only one more youth workshop in June and then I have to wait for nearly A YEAR to see the outcome from the kids’ project, but I am sooooo excited to see their hard work culminate into a fantastic finished product.  I am confident that they will be a smashing success.  (I would love to give details ~ but I am sworn to secrecy until it is unveiled next year!)

On to other things…

I have been adding a few diffferent parts of my life to my little blog, and I am enjoying that I can share them.  I still want keep my focus on crochet, food and photography.  Your comments and support of these things is so wonderful.  I hope that you are enjoying some of the side-trips and  you will be inspired by some of the other parts of life that I share as well.

Thanks so much for stopping by and indulging me in my bragging!

Edited to add::

since Elizabeth Cat took down her site, here are a couple of links ~ 

http://pinterest.com/pin/149533650097084127/

http://pinterest.com/pin/149533650097640179/

54 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2011 8:05 pm

    Hi there, I love your flowers! Pink and gray are beautiful together. A couple of months ago I happened across Elizabeth Cat’s Japanese flower pattern and I made one. I decided to start a few more, but have since misplaced (because I moved) the one I made and her blog is gone. Could you help me with the pattern instruction?

    • August 23, 2011 9:58 pm

      Hi Julie! I had no clue that Elizabeth Cat had taken her blog down. I looked all over and I am amazed that it’s not out there anywhere! Not even on Ravelry. I didn’t save it digitally, so let me look through my paper patterns to see what I can find. Give me a day or two and if I have it on paper I can scan and send it to you. Keep in touch :)

  2. September 24, 2011 2:38 am

    Hello,
    I love your Japanese flower stole. I too have searched in vain for the pattern, so I ordered the Japanese book (which I won’t be able to read!) but which has diagrams. I found the pattern in French, but it looks different to the original and the last two rows are being a problem for me. May I ask you if you would be kind enough to send me the pattern through email too. I also searched along the Elzabeth Cat lines, but she is no longer available! This lovely pattern is proving difficult to trace!

    Thank you so much!

    I love the extensive view from your terrace. I live in the city with another building in front of my nose!

  3. maryam permalink
    December 20, 2011 4:25 pm

    this is by far the most beautiful Japanese flower scarf :-) love the color combo! can you please email me the pattern at sandgrouse@gmail.com pretty please? :-)

  4. donna howell permalink
    January 3, 2012 2:30 am

    Can you tell me where to find the pattern? I love it! My email is djhowell.1@juno.com.

    Thanks so much!

  5. Elizabeth Hildebrandt permalink
    February 5, 2012 11:35 am

    I would love to make these gorgeous flowers too but I am only finding lots of beautiful pictures and a blog in French, but I do not speak or read French!! If you can send a link to the pattern, I would be so grateful!! Otherwise, I will try to figure it out going by all the beautiful pictures! My email is elizaghill@gmail.com. Thank you!!

  6. Marlene Raghoobar permalink
    March 9, 2012 2:02 pm

    This is absolutely gorgeous!!!!!! =) can you please email me the pattern too?

  7. Lynn Zemeckis permalink
    March 12, 2012 6:27 pm

    I would love to get the pattern too. The shawl is beautiful with these colors together. chillygirlz@yahoo.com Thank you very much…

  8. Debbie permalink
    March 20, 2012 3:02 pm

    Your shawl came out beautiful, great job!!! I would love to make it into an afghan – would you send me the pattern? Myemail is dkipps@live.com , thank you so much!

  9. March 23, 2012 11:01 pm

    I too would love this pattern if it is available! I have scoured the internet looking for it or something similar to no avail. Email is edug8r97@hotmail.com

    Thanks so much!

  10. Karen permalink
    March 27, 2012 10:59 pm

    This pattern is really beautiful. I have looked and looked but I haven’t had any luck. Is this pattern available? I would love this. My email address is murphyevans@verizon.net

    Thank you.

  11. Traci permalink
    March 29, 2012 6:43 pm

    Beautiful colors! If you don’t mind, please I would love this pattern also – have been searching the internet for a pattern. Email is fultont1067@yahoo.com

  12. Caro permalink
    April 8, 2012 6:23 pm

    I see you are baing inundated…but….please please could you send a pattern to me..I also do not speak French or Japanese. Thanks in anticipation =) carolynfrew@gmail.com

  13. Gaylin permalink
    April 10, 2012 12:03 pm

    Your shawl is GORGOUS! Very inspiring. Can I jump on the bandwagon and ask you send me a copy of the pattern? Thank You! :) gontheocean@yahoo.com

    • April 10, 2012 12:35 pm

      Thanks for the kind words :)

      • April 14, 2012 7:59 pm

        I feel a bit selfish to also be asking for this beautiful pattern(Japanese Flwr) and like the others,I cannot find it translatable to American/English terms! See what happens when you make something so lovely,everyone wants to be you! So,I’m not going to judge,expect,or think any less of you if you don’t have the time to email it to me,and will still visit you,as you are worthy of time to spend,marvelling at all you do…
        Regards,Heidi

  14. Lana Hale permalink
    April 14, 2012 6:10 pm

    Beautiful!!! Please email me the pattern too. Please lanat_hale@yahoo.com

  15. Nida permalink
    May 26, 2012 2:41 pm

    Please if you are not already fed up can you please send me the pattern as well? my email is nidasrar@gmail.com

  16. Coral permalink
    May 28, 2012 4:32 pm

    I’m in love with the colors you picked! I admire your dedication, because it shows in the finished work. Would you possibly email the pattern to me please and thank you?! coral.redfield@gmail.com

  17. Janice permalink
    July 22, 2012 9:57 pm

    It is delightful!! Would love to make my own. Please send the pattern – I’d be most grateful!! civetta_57@yahoo.com. Thanks in advance!!
    ~Janice

  18. July 22, 2012 11:31 pm

    I know you are exhausted from sending this pattern to people,but I asked back in April,I’m not sure I left my email(it’s possible,I’m such a ditz) so I’ll try one more time,and then I’ll be obnoxious,and start asking all the people on here that previously asked,and everyone will think,God-that girl really has a nerve to ask,but you know,if you don’t ask sometimes then it never happens,and I’ll just have to be jealous of everyone’s gorgeous Japanese shawl,especially yours,and then I might never get to make one…….!!!!!!!
    xoxo,H
    heidihillnyc@gmail

  19. July 23, 2012 1:53 am

    Gprgeous! Would like one, too, please, or where to find it…

    Again, super work!!! Love it!

    dotb in mo

    dahtee@swbell.net

  20. robin bredl permalink
    July 27, 2012 10:23 pm

    So very beautiful! Would you please email me the pattern when you get a moment? Thank you rbredl@comcast.net

  21. July 31, 2012 2:54 pm

    okay,so I’m all set to make one,and I just have one more question-did you join as you go,or join afterwards,and if so what method did you use?
    heidihillnyc@gmail.com
    thank you in advance for your patience and time!

    • July 31, 2012 3:09 pm

      I used the join as you go method from Lucy at Attic24. It’s a little tricky at first, but it was my first time ever using it too. After 4 or 5 joins I got the hang of it. Best of luck! Please share when you’re done :)

  22. Selina permalink
    August 9, 2012 12:33 pm

    Love this!!! It is so beautiful! Please send me the pattern :) I would love to make it into a throw for my couch! elina_17@yahoo.com

    Selina

  23. Claudia permalink
    August 16, 2012 6:06 pm

    I´ve spent hours for the pattern of these gorgeous Japanese flowers you made – in vain. I guess you´ve emailed the pattern to nearly everyone crocheting on this planet… could you also share it with me??? I´d like to give it to my friend´s little daughter – she´s fond of pink flowers…
    thanks so much ,
    Claudia ( sternenfalter@yahoo.de )

  24. Cate Reeves permalink
    September 29, 2012 1:30 pm

    Any chance you still have strength in your emailing hand – I’d love a copy of the pattern as I’m hoping to make my sister one for Christmas (hopefully this year and not 3 years time as usually happens!) Thanking you in anticipation – cathreeves@gmail.com
    x Cate

    • September 29, 2012 3:12 pm

      You can do it :) Check your email ~ I’ll get more info to you shortly. Then get to hookin’ chick!

  25. Susan Johnson permalink
    December 28, 2012 4:11 pm

    I have been searching for this pattern too! I have the yarn already but no pattern :-(( could you possible still send it out? to me? pretty please :-)) Thank you!!! I love the colors of your shawl!! sjohnson12409@yahoo.com

  26. Roxanne permalink
    February 12, 2013 9:32 pm

    This is most beautiful, I have never seen anything lik it, could you please share? roxie_rox59@hotmail.com. Many thanks!!

  27. Janet ingleton permalink
    February 19, 2013 11:48 am

    Love it!! Could you send me the pattern please jingleton48@hotmail.com. Thanks from sunny London!!

  28. nadia permalink
    March 23, 2013 10:58 am

    hi lisa!i am from romania,my name is nadia ,and i’m a beginner with crochet and english language;your shawl is amazing.i am searched a pattern ,because i dream to make it,but i didn’t find
    so,if you want to help make my dream come true,please send me this pattern;many thanks
    nistor_nadia@yahoo.com

  29. May 2, 2013 10:55 am

    Love this – you have right to brag about it! =D

  30. Desma permalink
    May 14, 2013 6:52 pm

    Your shawl is absolutely gorgeous! Could you please email me a copy of the pattern to drmann@iprimus.com.au

    Thank you

  31. Shelly permalink
    May 20, 2013 3:37 pm

    I love your shawl andthe colors you used very beautiful…..I see everyone has asked for the pattern and I myself would love to give this a try if you have it in you to email the pattern one more time? If you don’t mind email it to hugwarefun@yahoo.com
    Thank you :)

  32. Linda permalink
    June 28, 2013 3:40 pm

    Hi

    Swedens calling.. Like everyone else here. LOOOVE your shawl!.
    Can you please send me the pattern? have been looking like crazy ande every site I find has removed or just linking to the book, I cant buy the book here in stockholm. Can you please email me? pfyrixen@gmail.com

    BR
    LInda

    • July 1, 2013 1:51 pm

      Helloooooo Linda from Sweden! Sorry it took me so long to reply to you ~ I’ve been off wool-gathering and not been online for a few days. Thanks for the kind words and of course, I will be happy to send you the links and tutes! Happy hooking :)

  33. rami permalink
    August 8, 2013 12:46 am

    hello
    Please can you send me the pattern of Japanese Flower? my e-mail = ramya9julya@yahoo.com
    thank you

  34. rami permalink
    August 8, 2013 12:48 am

    sorry i made mistake in my e-mail id
    it is = ramya9july@yahoo.com

  35. September 20, 2013 5:13 am

    Hi!
    Such a beautyful shawl! Could you send me the pattern aswell? Please??
    My email adress is: jankri70@live.no
    Wishing you a lovley weekend :-)

  36. Susan Vatanen permalink
    November 7, 2013 3:09 pm

    Oh, please, oh please, can I have the pattern as well, please? Would be ever grateful for it!
    Have a wonderful day!
    My email is: sunnanmoon@gmail.com

  37. November 18, 2013 2:47 pm

    can i also ask for the pattern! please please please!!! *Puppey eyes* i really really love it. p
    my e-mail address is: Numidyaz@gmail.com

  38. Cyndi permalink
    April 7, 2014 10:56 pm

    If there’s any chance you still have this pattern, I’d love to make it for my mom this year for her birthday!!! Thank you in advance!! Ninnieofmany@gmail.com

Trackbacks

  1. life:: call me Sarah « yarnchick40

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

